top of page

Breaking the Mold, Freeing the Essence



Now that I am available in the job market and have been at various interviews, I have to say that this process feels too uptight or scripted (from both ends, the employer and the interviewee/candidate). It is like having a fake account in social media where you upload only what you want others to see. It feels like a Snapchat filter, where skin is made lighter and bunny ears are stuck on top of the head.

Nowadays there are technologies that use neuroscience to determine if a candidate is a fit for a specific position, reducing the bias that, as humans, we inherently have. Just as technology evolves, the interview process must evolve too. I believe it is up to each recruiter to break the mold, the script, and be creative in order to see past the filter and discover the person’s essence, while supporting the process with the evolving technology.

Since the evolution of the hiring process is not in my hands, I will take it on myself to make my next experiences different. In my next interview, when I get asked “Tell me about yourself?”, I will start by saying that I like to mow the lawn, wash my car, take photos of old buildings, do things that I thought were not within my reach - like running a half marathon. I don’t like to be put into a box or a job title. There is so much to an individual besides having the skills needed to get the job done and exceed expectations. The non-business/professional side must be known because once hired, the employee will spend more time at work with a team, than with their own family.


Posts Destacados 
Posts Recientes 
Encuéntrame en:
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • good reads2.jpeg
Webistes/Blogs Favoritos
bottom of page